About us

The Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences consists of the Departments of Business Administration, the Department of Economics and the Department of Social Sciences. Besides teaching and research in the fields of Business Administration, Economics, Political Science, Sociology, and Communication and Media Studies, the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences is involved in various interdisciplinary research centers such as the Centre of Competence for Public Management (KPM), the World Trade Institute (WTI), the Center for Regional Economic Development (CRED), the Oeschger Centre for Climate Research (OCCR), the Centre for Development and Environment (CDE) and the Interdisciplinary Centre for Gender Studies (IZFG).


Organization and Management of the Faculty

The Faculty Regulations defines the organization of the Faculty. The faculty college is the highest decision-making body of the faculty and makes the most important decisions for the Faculty. The Faculty college includes all professors of the Faculty as well as representatives of the intermediate staff and the students. The Faculty Committee is responsible for dealing with questions related to the strategic positioning of the Faculty and for preparing relevant proposals for the Faculty. The Faculty Committee consists of the Dean, the Vice Dean, the three department spokespersons, the planning and financial representative, the quality representative and the managing director of the Dean's Office.